×

Welcome back,

Your quote is ready

Back to Your Quote
>

Welcome back !

Complete your coverage application and get a quote

Finish your quote
>
Get Instant Quote

Plumber Licensing Requirements by State: A Comprehensive Guide

 

Plumber Licensing

 

Plumbers are among the most closely regulated professions in the United States. Almost all states have plumber licensing requirements for journeyman and master plumbers, but the requirements and exams will vary from state to state. Having gone through years of study and practical training, you’ll want to make sure that you comply with the laws in your state so that you can grow your business. Your plumber license is just as important as your plumbers insurance so make sure to have all information.

We’ve put together this comprehensive guide of licensing requirements in each of the 50 states. Our list is in alphabetical order to make it easier for you to find what you’re looking for. If you click on the highlighted state names, you’ll be directed to a link for the relevant government agency. If there’s no link that means there are no licensing requirements. Good luck!

Alabama

Plumbers must hold a state license to work in Alabama. You’ll need to contact the State of Alabama Plumbers and Gas Fitters Examining Board.

  • Journeyman Plumber – You must have two years of experience as an apprentice or must complete an apprentice training program approved by the board. You must pass an exam.
  • Master Plumber – You must have one year of work experience as a journeyman plumber. You must pass an exam.

Alaska

To work as a plumber in Alaska, you’ll need a state license from the Alaska Department of Labor and Workforce Development.

  • Journeyman Plumber – You must show proof of 8,000 hours of work experience in the installation of commercial or residential plumbing. You can substitute up to 1,000 hours of related education for work experience.
  • Plumber Gas License – You must show proof of 4,000 hours of work experience with at least 2,000 hours being in the installation of fuel gas piping. Up to 500 hours of education can be substituted for work experience.
  • Plumber Utility License – You must show proof of 1,000 hours of installation of water, sewer or storm lines. You can substitute up to 125 hours of education for experience.

Each license requires an exam.

Arizona

Plumbers must hold a state contractors license to work in Arizona. There are both commercial and residential licenses, as well as a dual license, that are awarded by the Arizona Registrar of Contractors. The dual license covers both commercial and residential plumbing work.

  • Special Residential Contracting License, Plumbing R-37 – Allows for the installation and repair of water and gas piping systems, fire protection systems, and sewage treatment systems.
  • Specialty Commercial Contracting License, Plumbing C-37 – Allows for the installation, alteration, and repair of all plumbing within property lines.

For both licenses, you must show four years of experience and must pass a business exam and a trade exam. You must show proof of a bond.

Arkansas

Plumbers in Arkansas require a state license before they can work. The license is issued by the Arkansas Department of Health, Plumbing and Natural Gas Division. To apply for a master plumber license, you must show proof of five years of experience and if you are a journeyman plumber, you must have held a journeyman license for at least a year. You must pass an exam.

California

You must have a state contractors license to work as a plumber in California. The Plumbing Contractor license is a C-36 classification which is awarded by the Department of Consumer Affairs, Contractors State License Board. A license is required for any work worth $500 or more. You must show proof of four years of experience at a journeyman level or as a foreman, supervising employee, contractor or owner-builder. You must have a $15,000 bond. You must pass a Law and Business exam, as well as a trade exam. You may also require a Hazardous Substance Removal Certification to install and/or remove underground storage tanks or other hazardous substance removal work. This will require you to pass an exam.

Colorado

Plumbers in Colorado must hold a state license before they begin work. There are a number of classifications of licenses awarded by the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies, State Plumbing Board. You must pass an exam to qualify for a license.

  • Residential Plumber – You must show proof of two years (3,400 hours) of experience.
  • Journeyman Plumber – You must show proof of up to four years (6,800 hours) of experience.
  • Master Plumber – You must show proof of five years (60 months or 9,780 hours) of experience.

Connecticut

Plumbers must be licensed by the state to work in Connecticut. The Plumbing and Pipefitting licenses are awarded by the Connecticut State Department of Consumer Protection.

  • Journeyperson – You must complete a registered apprenticeship program or have the equivalent amount of training and experience. You must pass a trade exam.
  • Contractor – You must show proof of two years of experience as a licensed journeyperson. You must pass a trade exam, as well as a business and law exam.

Delaware

You’ll need a master plumber license to work in Delaware if you plan to design, install, construct, replace, service, repair, alter or modify pipes, fixtures or other similar apparatus for water or gas. The license is awarded by the Delaware Division of Professional Regulation. If you have a journeyman certificate, you must show proof of completion of an apprenticeship program, plus at least two years of experience supervised by a licensed master plumber. You’ll need to pass an exam. If you don’t hold a journeyman certificate, you’ll need proof of at least seven years of work experience supervised by a licensed master plumber. You can then take the Apprenticeship By-Pass exam

Florida

To work as a certified plumber in Florida, you must hold a license from the Florida Department of Business and Professional Regulation. You must show proof of four years of experience or a combination of experience and related education. You must have public liability, property damage and workers compensation insurance. You must pass an exam.

Georgia

To work as a plumber in Georgia, you must have a state license from the Georgia Construction Industry Licensing Board, Division of Master and Journeyman Plumbers. You must meet the following plumber licensing requirements:

  • Journeyman Plumber – You must show proof of three years of experience. You must pass an exam.
  • Master Plumber – You must show proof of five years of experience, with at least two years experience as a journeyman plumber, plumbing contractor, plumbing foreman, plumbing superintendent or military plumber. You must pass an exam.

Hawaii

Plumbers must hold a state license to work in Hawaii. The licenses are awarded by the Department of Commerce and Consumer Affairs, Professional and Vocational Licensing, Board of Electricians and Plumbers. For each license, you must pass an exam. To qualify for the exam, you must meet the following plumber licensing requirements:

  • Journey Worker Plumber – You must show proof of five years and at least 10,000 hours of experience in plumbing work, in compliance with the Uniform Plumbing Code (UPC).
  • Master Plumber – You must show proof of two years of experience working as a licensed journey worker plumber.

Idaho

Plumbers in Idaho must hold a state license issued by the Idaho Division of Building Safety. There are multiple plumber licenses each with their own requirements.

  • Plumbing Apprentice – You don’t need a license, but must be registered.
  • Plumbing Journeyman – You must complete a four-year course approved by the Idaho Plumbing Board. You must pass a trade exam. To be eligible for the journeyman plumber’s certificate of competency, you must show four years of experience as an apprentice under the supervision of a qualified journeyman plumber.
  • Plumbing Contractor – You must show proof of two and a half years of experience as a licensed journeyman plumber. You must pass an exam.
  • Specialty Plumbing Apprentice – You must be employed by a licensed plumbing specialty contractor of the same specialty category. You must work under the supervision of a plumbing specialty journeyman in the same specialty category. You must have completed or be enrolled in an approved training course.
  • Specialty Plumbing Journeyman – You must show proof of 18 months of apprentice experience. You must have completed 72 hours of approved training. You must pass a test.
  • Specialty Plumbing Contractor – You must show proof of two and a half years of experience as a specialty plumbing journeyman in the specialty category for which you’re applying. You must pass an exam.

Illinois

Plumbers must hold a state license to work in Illinois. The license is awarded by the Illinois Department of Public Health.

  • Apprentice Plumbers – You must show proof of sponsorship by an Illinois licensed plumber or by an approved apprenticeship program. You must apply for, and pass, the plumbers licensing exam within a maximum apprenticeship period of six years.
  • Plumbing Contractors – You must show proof of a holding a plumber apprentice license for at least four years. You must have completed at least two years of high school, as well as completing an approved course. You must pass an exam.

Indiana

To work as a plumber in Indiana, you must hold a state license issued by the Indiana Professional Licensing Agency, Plumbing Commission. Plumber licensing requirements depend on the license you’re applying for:

  • Apprentice Plumber – You do not require a license, but you must be registered.
  • Journeyman Plumber – You must apply through an approved apprenticeship school. You must have completed four years of training and have passed a practical exam. If you’re applying through a plumbing trade, you must have a current out-of-state plumbing license and must show proof of four years of experience.
  • Plumbing Contractor – You must apply through an approved apprenticeship school. You must have completed four years of training and have passed a practical exam. If you’re applying through a plumbing trade, you must have a current out-of-state plumbing license and must show proof of four years of experience.

Iowa

Plumbers working in Iowa must have a state license. There are a number of licenses awarded by the Iowa Department of Public Health, Plumbing and Mechanical Systems Board.

  • Apprentice – You must be enrolled in an approved apprenticeship program. You can only work under the supervision of a journeyperson or master plumber. You must be at least 18 years old and have graduated high school.
  • Journeyperson Plumber – You must work under the supervision of a licensed master plumber. You must have completed at least four years of experience as an apprentice from a registered apprenticeship program and pass the journeyperson exam; or you must have a master level license from another jurisdiction.
  • Master Plumber – You must have held a journeyperson license with two years of experience or hold a master license in another jurisdiction. You must pass the master licensing exam.
  • Plumbing Contractor – You must show proof of a surety bond and liability insurance. You must also be registered as a contractor with the Iowa Division of Labor.

Kansas

Plumbers in Kansas do not need a state license to work. However, there may be local requirements so make sure to check these with your local government before you begin work.

Kentucky

All plumbers in Kentucky must hold a state license in order to do plumbing work. There are multiple licenses awarded by the Department of Housing, Buildings, and Construction, Plumbing Division.

  • Journeyman Plumber – You must have completed two years of experience. You must pass the trade exam.
  • Master Plumber – You must have a current journeyman license. You must pass an exam.

Louisiana

Plumbers in Louisiana must hold a state license to be able to work as plumbers in the state. There are multiple license classifications awarded by the State Plumbing Board of Louisiana.

  • Journeyman Plumber – You must have completed an approved apprenticeship program. You must pass a trade exam. You must complete continuing education through an approved course to be able to renew your license each year.
  • Master Plumber – You must have a current Louisiana Journeyman Plumbing License. You must pass a trade exam. You must complete continuing education through an approved course to be able to renew your license each year.

If your plumbing work is worth more than $10,000, you’ll also need a commercial plumbing license issued by the Louisiana State Licensing Board for Contractors. For this license, you must pass a trade exam, as well as a business and law exam.

Maine

Plumbers in Maine must hold a state license to be able to work. You must meet the plumber licensing requirements for the specific license you’re applying for. The licenses are awarded by the Plumbers’ Examining Board.

  • Journeyman Plumber – You must show a minimum of at least two years and 4,000 hours of experience in plumbing installations as a licensed trainee plumber supervised by a licensed master plumber. Or you must have at least 2,000 hours of work experience within the last four years as a licensed journeyman-in-training working under the supervision of a licensed master plumber. You must pass an exam.
  • Master Plumber – You must have at least one year with 2,000 hours of experience in plumbing installations as a licensed journeyman plumber. Or you must have at least four years with 8,000 hours of experience in plumbing installations as a licensed trainee plumber supervised by a licensed master plumber.

Maryland

Plumbers must hold a state license to be able to work in Maryland. There are a number of license categories with specific plumber licensing requirements for each category.

  • Apprentice Plumber – You must be at least 16 years of age.
  • Journey Plumber – You must have held an apprentice license for at least four years and must show proof of 7,500 hours of training under the supervision of a licensed master plumber. You must also have completed 32 hours of training in backflow prevention device testing. You must pass an exam.
  • Master Plumber – You must have held a journey license for at least two years. You must show proof of 3,750 hours of training under the supervision of a licensed master plumber. You must pass an exam.

Massachusetts

You must hold a state license to work as a plumber in Massachusetts. The license is awarded by the Board of State Examiners of Plumbers and Gas Fitters.

  • Apprentice Plumber – You must be at least 16 years of age.
  • Journeyman Plumber – You must have worked for at least 8,500 hours as a licensed apprentice under the supervision of a licensed master plumber or under the supervision of a license journeyman plumber who is employed by a master plumber. You must also have completed at least 550 hours of plumbing theory. You must pass an exam.
  • Master Plumber – You must have held a journeyman plumbing license for at least one year and have completed at least 100 hours of advanced plumbing theory in an accredited course. You must pass an exam.

Michigan

Plumbers in Michigan must hold a state license to work. There are multiple license categories awarded by the Department of Licensing and Regulatory Affairs (LARA).

  • Journey Plumber License – You must be at least 18 years of age. You must have at least 6,000 hours of experience in not less than three years as a registered plumbing apprentice. You must pass an exam.
  • Master Plumber License – You must be at least 18 years of age. You must have at least 4,000 hours of experience as a journey plumber, in not less than two years. You must pass an exam.

Minnesota

As a plumber, you must hold a state license to work in Minnesota. There are unique requirements based on the license you’re applying for. The licenses are awarded by the Minnesota Department of Labor and Industry, Construction Codes and Licensing Division.

  • Plumber Journeyworker – You must show proof of at least 7,000 hours of experience with 2,000 hours in drain, waste and vent installation, 1,000 hours in fixture installation and 2,000 hours in water distribution installation. You must pass an exam.
  • Plumber Master – You must show proof of 1,750 hours of experience. You must have a journeyworker license, plus 12 months experience. You must pass an exam.

Mississippi

You must hold a state contractors license, issued by the MS State Board of Contractors, to work as a plumber in Mississippi if you perform any residential plumbing work worth more than $10,000 or commercial work worth more than $50,000. You must pass an exam. For work worth less than these amounts, check local licensing requirements.

Missouri

There are no state plumbing licensing requirements in Missouri, but there may be local requirements, so make sure to check these before you begin work.

Montana

As a plumber, you must hold a state license to work in Montana. The licenses are awarded by the Montana Department of Labor and Industry, Board of Plumbers.

  • Journeyman – You must have proof of having completed a registered apprenticeship program. You must have at least five years of experience and you must pass an exam.
  • Master – You must have four years of experience as a licensed journeyman with three of those years working with a licensed master or in a supervisory capacity. Nine years of experience must be verified by notarized statements. You must pass an exam.

Nebraska

You do not need a state license to work as a plumber in Nebraska. However, if you’re considered a contractor, you’ll need to register with the Nebraska Department of Labor. You must check local licensing requirements before you begin work.

Nevada

Plumbers must hold a state license to work in Nevada. The license is awarded by the Nevada Board of Plumbing Examiners.

  • Journeyman Plumber – You must have completed four years in a state-registered, accredited apprenticeship program or have 8,000 hours of experience in plumbing. You must pass an exam.
  • Master Plumber – You must have held a Nevada journeyman plumber license for at least one year or for 2,000 hours. You must pass an exam.

Plumbing contractors must hold a plumbing and heating contracting (classification C-1) license from the Nevada State Contractors Board. You’ll need to show proof of four years of experience in the past ten years and you must pass an exam.

New Hampshire

A plumber must have a state license to work in New Hampshire.

  • Apprentice – You must be at least 16 years of age. You must be registered in an approved apprenticeship program.
  • Journeyman – You must be at least 18 years of age. You must have completed an apprenticeship program and must pass the journeyman exam.
  • Master plumber – You must have held a journeyman plumber license for at least six months. You must pass an exam.

New Jersey

A master plumber must be licensed in New Jersey by the Division of Consumer Affairs, State Board of Examiners of Master Plumbers. To be eligible, you must be at least 21 years of age. You must have completed a four-year, approved apprenticeship program and have one year of experience as a journeyman plumber. Or you must have a bachelor’s degree in mechanical, plumbing or sanitary engineering from an accredited college and have one year of experience as a journeyman plumber. You must pass an exam with a trade section, a practical section, and a business and law section. Journeyman plumbers must be registered.

New Mexico

Plumbers in New Mexico must hold a state license in order to work. The licenses are awarded by the New Mexico Regulation and Licensing Department. You’ll need to show proof of two years (4,000 hours) of experience to be eligible for a JP – Journeyman Plumber license. You must pass an exam.

New York

There are no plumber state licensing requirements in New York. However, in many cities and counties, there are strict requirements so you must check these with your local government before you begin work.

North Carolina

Plumbers must hold a state license to work in North Carolina. The license is awarded by the State Board of Examiners of Plumbing, Heating and Fire Sprinkler Contractors. You must show proof of two full years of experience. Up to half of the experience can be substituted with academic or technical training. You must pass a trade exam, as well as a business and law exam.

North Dakota

As a plumber, you must hold a state license to work in North Dakota. The licenses are awarded by the North Dakota State Plumbing Board.

  • Apprentice Plumber – You must be at least 18 years of age. You must apply within 30 days of beginning work.
  • Journeyman Plumber – You must have four years and at least 7,600 hours of experience working as an apprentice plumber under a licensed master plumber. You must pass an exam.
  • Master Plumber – You must be at least 21 years of age. You must have at least two years (3,400 hours) of experience working as a journeyman plumber. You must pass an exam.

Ohio

Individual plumbers do not need a state license to work in Ohio. However, commercial plumbing contractor licenses are issued by the state from the Ohio Construction Industry Licensing Board. You must have at least five years of experience as a plumber, as well as three years of business experience in the construction industry. You must pass an exam. You must have liability insurance.

Oklahoma

All plumbers must have a state license to work in Oklahoma. The licenses are awarded by the Oklahoma Construction Industries Board.

  • Plumbing Apprentice – You do not need a licensed, but you must be registered. You must work under the supervision of a journeyman or contractor.
  • Plumbing Journeyman – You must be at least 18 years of age. You must have three years of experience employed by a plumbing contractor. An approved plumbing educational program of at least 1,000 hours can substitute for two years of experience. An approved plumbing educational program of at least 500 hours can substitute for one year of experience. You must pass an exam.
  • Plumbing Contractor – You must be at least 18 years of age. You must have three years of experience employed by a plumbing contractor. An approved plumbing educational program of at least 1,000 hours can substitute for two years of experience. An approved plumbing educational program of at least 500 hours can substitute for one year of experience. You must pass an exam.

Oregon

As a plumber, you must have a state license to work in Oregon. The license is awarded by the Department of Consumer and Business Services, Building Codes Division. To be eligible for a journeyman plumber license, you must have completed a four-year registered apprenticeship program or have completed 576 hours of classroom training, and have proof of 3,850 hours of commercial and 3,850 hours of residential experience as a journeyman or apprentice plumber. You must pass an exam.

Plumber Licensing Requirements by State

Pennsylvania

Plumbers in Pennsylvania don’t need a state license. However, there may be local plumber licensing requirements so make sure to check these before you begin work.

Rhode Island

As a plumber in Rhode Island, you must hold a state license issued by the Rhode Island Department of Labor and Training, Division of Workforce Regulation and Safety, Professional Regulations Unit.

  • Plumber Journeyman – You must have at least four years of experience and 576 hours of approved education. You must pass an exam.
  • Plumber Master – You must have at least five years of experience and must hold a journeyperson license which must have been valid for at least a year. You must pass an exam.

South Carolina

Plumbers must be licensed by the state to work in South Carolina. The licenses are awarded by the South Carolina Department of Labor, Licensing, and Regulation, Residential Builders Commission. To become a plumbing specialty contractor, you must show proof of one year of experience and you must pass an exam.

South Dakota

To work as a plumber in South Dakota, you must have a state license issued by the South Dakota Department of Labor and Regulation, Plumbing Commission. You must fulfill the following plumber licensing requirements to be eligible for a license:

  • Plumber Apprentice – If you have two years (3,800 hours) of experience working under a plumbing contractor, you can work on single family dwellings without supervision in your third and fourth year if you have passed the exam.
  • Journeyman Plumber – You must have four years of experience as an apprentice, with at least 1,900 hours of experience per year. You can substitute two years of military plumbing for one year of experience, up to a total of five years. You must pass an exam.
  • Plumbing Contractor – You must have at least six years of experience in the plumbing trade, with at least two of the years working as a plumbing contractor or plumber. You must have spent at least 1,900 hours per year working in the plumbing trade. You must pass an exam.

Tennessee

In Tennessee, plumbing licenses are awarded both at the state and local level. The plumber licensing requirements depend on the type of license you’re applying for and the value of the work you’re doing. The state licenses are issued by the TN Department of Commerce and Insurance, Board for Licensing Contractors.

  • Limited Licensed Plumber – Required if the total cost of the work is less than $25,000 and there are no specific local requirements in the city or county in which you’re working. You must pass an exam.
  • Plumbing Contractor (CMC or CMC-A classification) – Required for work on projects worth $25,000 and more. You must show proof of three years of experience and you must pass an exam.

Texas

Plumbers must be licensed by the state in order to work in Texas. The licenses are awarded by the Texas State Board of Plumbing Examiners.

  • Journeyman Plumber – You must have a high school diploma or equivalent. You must be currently registered as a plumber’s apprentice or as a tradesman plumber limited in Texas, or as a journeyman or master plumber in another state. You must have at least 8,000 hours of experience. Unless you are a licensed journeyman or master plumber in another state, you must complete a 48-hour approved training course. You must pass an exam.
  • Master Plumber – You must have a high school diploma or equivalent. You must currently be licensed as a journeyman plumber in Texas or another state and have at least four years of experience. Or you must be licensed as a journeyman plumber in Texas or another state and have held the license for at least one year, and have completed an approved training program. Or, be a master plumber in another state and have held a journeyman license for at least four years. Or be a master plumber in another state, have held a journeyman license for at least one year, and have completed an approved training program. You must pass an exam.

Utah

As a plumber, you must be licensed by the state to work in Utah. The licenses are awarded by the Utah Department of Commerce, Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing. The plumber licensing requirements will depend on the specific license you’re applying for.

  • Journeyman Plumber – To qualify to write the exam, you must have completed at least 6,000 hours of the required 8,000 hours of training as a licensed apprentice, in not less than four years. You must submit proof of the final 2,000 hours of training before you can receive your license. Or, you must have at least eight years (16,000 hours) of experience under the supervision of a licensed master or journeyman plumber.
  • Residential Journeyman Plumber – You must have completed an approved apprenticeship program and have at least 6,000 hours of training as a licensed apprentice, in not less than three years. Or, you must have at least six years (12,000 hours) of experience under a licensed plumber. You must pass an exam.
  • Master Plumber – You must show at least two years of experience as a licensed journeyman plumber, plus two years of supervisory experience as a journeyman plumber. Completing an approved applied science or higher education degree, may be able to substitute for one year of supervisory experience. You must pass an exam.
  • Residential Master Plumber – You must have at least two years of experience as a licensed residential journeyman plumber and at least two years of supervisory experience as a residential journeyman plumber. You must pass an exam.

Vermont

As a plumber, you must hold a state license to work in Vermont. The license is awarded by the Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety. For each license, you must pass an exam.

  • Journeyman Plumber – You must show a certificate of completion from the Vermont State Apprenticeship Council. Or, you must provide a certified statement of licensure or completion of an apprenticeship program from another state. Or, you must show 12,000 hours of instruction, training, and experience.
  • Master Plumber – You must have held a Vermont journeyman license for at least 12 months. Or, you must have been licensed at an equivalent level to a Vermont journeyman out of the state for at least one year. Or, you must show 14,000 hours of instruction, training, and experience.

Virginia

As a plumber, you must be licensed by the state to work in Virginia. The licenses are awarded by the Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation. You must pass an exam for all licenses.

  • Journeyman Plumber – You must show proof of four years of experience, with another 240 hours of formal training. More than four years of experience can substitute for training hours, with one year of experience being worth 80 hours of training, up to 200 hours. Or, you must show proof of two years of experience, with an associated degree or certificate of completion of a two-year education program from an accredited college. Or, you must show proof of one year of experience, with a bachelor’s degree from an accredited college in a related engineering field. Or, you must have ten years of experience.
  • Master Electrician – You must have one year of experience as a licensed journeyman. Or, you must have ten years of experience.

Washington

You’ll need a state license to work as a plumber in Washington. The license is issued by the Washington State Department of Labor and Industries.

  • Journeyman Plumber – You must show proof of 8,000 hours, and not less than four years working as a plumber trainee under the supervision of a certified plumber. At least 4,000 of the hours, and not less than two years, must be completed in commercial or industrial installation.
  • Specialty Residential Plumber – You must show proof of 6,000 hours, and not less than six years, working as a residential plumber under the supervision of a certified plumber.

West Virginia

A plumber in West Virginia must hold a state license to work. The license is awarded by the West Virginia Division of Labor. The plumber licensing requirements depend on the license you’re applying for.

  • Journeyman Plumber – You must have at least 8,000 hours of experience. You must pass an exam.
  • Master Plumber – You must have at least 12,000 hours of experience. You must pass an exam.

Wisconsin

In Wisconsin, plumbers must be licensed to work in the state. The licenses are awarded by the Department of Safety and Professional Services, Division of Professional Credentialing Processing.

  • Journeyman Plumber – You must have completed a recognized apprenticeship program. You must pass an exam. If you’re applying from out of state, you may require five years of experience under a journeyman plumber license.
  • Master Plumber – You must have 1,000 hours of experience as a licensed Wisconsin journeyman plumber per year for at least three years. Or, you must have graduated from an accredited engineering university or college with an approved engineering curriculum related to engineering. You must pass an exam.

Wyoming

Plumbers do not need a state license to work in Wyoming; however there may be local plumber licensing requirements in the municipality in which you plan to work so make sure to check these with the local government.

This information is provided as a service. To the best of our knowledge, it is correct and up-to-date; however, it is not expected to be taken as legal advice and you must always check the requirements on both a state level and a local government level before you start any work.

You may also like

how to bid a painting job

How to Bid a Painting Job — 6 Tips to Estimate a Painting Job and Win More Clients

Have you ever started a painting job and then realized it was going to cost a totally different amount than you initially estimate...

Importance of Having a Certificate of Insurance for Contractors

  When you’re a business owner, having insurance is essential for your long-term success. As a contractor, this is e...

Premises Liability Insurance vs General Liability for Small Business

Running your own business can be very rewarding. You get to be your own boss and set your own hours. You feel pride in working...

Authors

  • Sanjay BiswasSanjay Biswas
  • Natalie CutlerNatalie Cutler
  • Guy GoldsteinGuy Goldstein
  • Alon HuriAlon Huri
  • Rachel Present SchreterRachel Present Schreter
  • Evyatar SagieEvyatar Sagie
  • Annie RyanAnnie Ryan
  • Zeke ScherlZeke Scherl
  • Sofya PogrebSofya Pogreb

Subscribe to our blog

Follow us